Base of briquetting

Search Our Site

Where you shave things, chips will fall

Raw materials are ever more scarce, and the prices are increasing; despite the fact that we handle the starting materials ever-more efficiently, waste will still occur. And there is an unused potential right within these waste materials. These waste materials can be recycled and returned to the energy cycle as often as possible.



What weights more? – One ton of lead or one ton of cotton?

In order for the collected, recyclable raw materials to not take up our storage capacity, or to equalise savings of the return material through the storage costs, this to be reduced to the smallest volume possible. By using briquetting presses, compressible materials can be reduced up to an average compression ratio of 10:1 (for aluminium, up to 20:1!).



Compressible materials

Material in the form of dust, chips or cuttings can be recycled:

  • Aluminium
  • Wood
  • Cardboard
  • Paper
  • Straw
  • Rice husks
  • Styrofoam
  • Polystyrene
  • Polyurethane 



Particularly in the foundry and aluminium industry, the economic and ecological effect are especially high. It is not unusual for the briquette system to pay for itself within 8 to 12 months.


Aluminium example

When aluminium is processed, chips with high-quality coolant and lubricant are discharged. When the briquettes are made, the coolant and lubricant is pressed out of the chips. This can be pumped directly back into the system present. By separating the coolant and lubricant, the transport weight is reduced. The environment is not endangered due to unnecessary fluid loss. The briquetting has an effect of massive reduction of the volume of the raw material from 7:1 up to 20:1. These compact, solid briquettes lower the transport costs through a high container utilisation. During melting, lower loss is generated (burn-off approx. 3 to 5%), because the briquette type has a lower surface than the loose swarf (burn-off approx. 25 to 30%). The Extra earnings from selling the briquettes to aluminium smelting plants is approx. 400 CHF/1,000 kg.



Wood is a natural product. It takes on a burning behavior approximately equal to that of coal through the high compression into a briquette. In addition, the combustion of wood briquettes is CO2-neutral, because only as much CO2 is released into the atmosphere as a growing tree takes up through photosynthesis. Through briquetting of the wood waste (wood cuttings, chips, sawdust), eight times the amount of wood waste can be stored in the same amount of space. In addition, the danger of a dust explosion due to the binding of the wood dust is reduced to the point that no explosion relief systems are prescribed for these spaces. An interesting alternative amid the growing discussions on CO2 emissions, the greenhouse effect and the constantly increasing oil prices that pays for itself!



Natural heat

Wood briquettes can be used not only in chimneys and cockle stoves, but also in almost any solid fuel combustion system. While doing so, 500 kg of briquette made of wood chips correspond to 200 liters of heating oil . Your wood also remains a natural product after it has been briquetted, because it has been compressed under high pressure without any binding material into briquettes of a uniform size and hardness. This corresponds to the requirement according to DIN 51731 - the German standard for wood pellets. 


General dust

Right where industrial filter dust is collected, the danger of self-combustion is very high, depending on the material. With one of the dust presses developed purposely for this field, the surface is compressed with high pressure so that no special protection measures are needed anymore. The enclosure of an expensive CO2 extinguishing system, for example, is completely dispensed with. Industrial dust, metal dust and dust from laser processing can not only be stored without problems after they have been turned into briquettes; rather, they can also be used directly in the smelting process as necessary. Usually, the briquette press can be applied without additional effort under cyclones that throw the dust particles from the air. Often, the use of rotary feeders or similar systems can be dispensed with.


Your gain:

  • Lower storage space through volume reduction
    • Reduction of the transport and handling costs
    • Increased safety
    • Additional profits during recycling (metal)
    • Saving high-quality cooling and lubricant
    • Lowering the combustion costs
    • Additional source of revenue if the wood briquettes are sold

Grundlagen Brikettieren

Wo gehobelt wird – fallen Späne

Rohstoffe werden immer knapper und die Preise steigen, obschon wir immer effizienter mit dem teuren Ausgangsmaterialien umgehen, fallen trotzdem immer Reststoffe an. Gerade in diesen Reststoffen liegt ein noch ungenutztes Potential. Diese Reststoffe gilt es zu verwerten und so oft wie möglich in den Energiekreislauf zurückzuführen.

 

 

Was wiegt mehr? – Eine Tonne Blei oder eine Tonne Watte?

Damit die gesammelten, wiederverwertbaren Rohstoffe nicht unsere Lagerkapazitäten ausschöpfen – oder die Einsparung der Materialrückführung durch die Lagerhaltungskosten egalisiert werden – gilt es diese auf ein kleinstmöglichstes Volumen zu reduzieren. Durch den Einsatz von Brikettierpressen können verpressbare Materialien bis zu einem durchschnittlichen Verdichtungsverhältnis von 10:1 (bei Aluminium bis zu 20:1 !) reduziert werden.

 

 

Verpressbare Materialien

Verwertet werden können in Form von Staub, Spänen oder Schnitzel:

  • Aluminium
  • Holz
  • Karton
  • Papier
  • Stroh
  • Reisschalen
  • Styropor
  • Polystyrol
  • Polyurethan 

 

Metalle

Speziell in der Giesserei- und Aluminiumindustrie ist der wirtschaftliche und ökologische Effekt besonders hoch. Eine Amortisation der Brikettieranlage innerhalb von 8–12 Monaten ist keine Seltenheit.

 

Beispiel Aluminium

Bei der Bearbeitung von Aluminium werden Späne mit hochwertigen Kühl- und Schmierstoffen ausgetragen. Bei der Brikettierung der Späne werden die Kühl- und Schmierstoffe ausgepresst. Diese können direkt in das vorhandene System zurückgepumpt werden. Durch das Trennen von Kühl- und Schmierstoffe vermindert sich das Transportgewicht. Die Umwelt wird nicht durch unnötig verlorene Flüssigkeit belastet. Die Brikettierung bewirkt eine grosse Volumenreduzierung des Ausgangsmaterials von 7:1 bis zu 20:1. Diese kompakten, festen Briketts senken die Transportkosten durch eine hohe Containerauslastung. Beim Einschmelzen entsteht geringerer Verlust (Abbrand ca. 3–5%), da die Brikettform eine geringere Oberfläche als das Lose Spangut (Abbrand ca. 25–30%) besitzt. Der Mehrerlös beim Verkauf der Briketts an Aluminiumschmelzwerke beträgt ca. 400 CHF/1000kg.

 

Holz

Holz ist ein Naturprodukt. Durch die hohe Verdichtung zum Brikett nimmt es in etwa das Brennverhalten von Kohle an. Zudem ist das Verbrennen von Holzbriketts CO2-neutral, da nur soviel CO2 an die Atmosphäre abgegeben wird, wie ein nachwachsender Baum durch die Photosynthese aufnimmt. Durch das Brikettieren der Holzabfälle (Holzschnitzel, Späne, Sägemehl) kann im selben Lagerraum die achtfache Menge an Holzabfälle gelagert werden. Im Übrigen wird die Gefahr einer Staubexplosion durch die Bindung des Holzstaubes soweit reduziert, sodass für diese Räume keine Druckentlastungsflächen mehr vorgeschrieben sind. Durch die wachsenden Diskussionen um CO2-Abgaben, den Treibhauseffekt und die stetig steigenden Erdölpreise, eine interessante Alternative die sich rechnet!

 

Natürliche Wärme

Holzbriketts können nicht nur im Cheminée und Kachelöfen, sondern in fast jeder Festbrennstoff-Feuerungsanlage verwertet werden. Dabei entsprechen 500kg Brikett aus Hobelspänen, dem Heizwert von 200lt. Heizöl. Ihr Holz bleibt auch nach dem Brikettieren ein Naturprodukt, da es unter hohem Druck ohne Bindemittel zu gleichmässig grossen und harten Briketts gepresst wird. Dies entspricht der Anforderung nach DIN 51731 – der deutschen Norm für Holzpellets. 

 

Staub allgemein

Dort wo industrieller Filterstaub gesammelt wird ist die Gefahr der Selbstentzündung – je nach Material – sehr hoch. Mit einer eigens für diesen Bereich entwickelten Staubpresse wird mit hohen Drücken die Oberfläche so verdichtet, dass keine besonderen Schutzmassnahmen mehr nötig sind. Die Einhausung einer z.B. teuren CO2-Löschanlage entfällt gänzlich. Industrieller Staub, Metall-Staub und Staub aus der Laserbearbeitung können nach dem Brikettieren nicht nur problemlos gelagert – sondern gegebenenfalls auch direkt dem Schmelzprozess wieder zugeführt werden. Meist lässt sich die Brikettierpresse ohne Aufwand unter Zyklonen, die Staubpartikel aus der Luft schleudern, anbringen. Auf den Einsatz von Zellradschleusen oder ähnlichen Systemen kann oft verzichtet werden.

 

Ihr Gewinn:

  • Geringere Lagerfläche durch Volumenreduktion
  • Reduktion der Transport- und Handling-Kosten
  • Höhere Sicherheit
  • Mehrerlös beim Recycling (Metall)
  • Einsparen hochwertiger Kühl- und Schmierstoffe
  • Senken der Brennstoffkosten
  • Zusätzliche Einnahmequelle bei Verkauf von Holzbriketts